Shit I Didn’t Buy Today: Crate & Barrel Edition

When I embarked on this journey to improve my finances, the first thing I had to do was learn how to say “NO!” to unnecessary purchases. $5 here, $20 there at the time never seemed extravagant, but over time it adds up and you’re left with an empty bank account and a house full of (pretty) crap you never truly needed in the first place. Since I started this journey in earnest about a year and a half ago, I’m pleased to say that I have gotten a lot better at turning my back on stuff that –  in the moment – feels like I need to have. That’s not to say that I don’t ever covet unnecessary things, because I still do and I guess I am a masochist because I like going into stores full of stuff I don’t need. Case in point: CRATE & BARREL.

I found myself in Soho this afternoon with a friend after grabbing lunch. I was getting ready to go home and the subway station was right there…underneath the Crate & Barrel flagship store. I’m not even going to pretend that I thought about putting my head down and hurrying down the steps to the subway. I went inside and spent the next 45 minutes touching everything in sight and rationalizing why I needed it. Here are the items I came thisclose to buying:

Slide1

  1. Plastic cereal container ($17.95): why would I want to look at the box when I can just look straight at the good stuff?
  2. Syrup pitcher ($12.95): a triple-threat pitcher that can hold syrup, beverages, and flowers
  3. Decorative pillow ($49.95): expensive back-support apparatus for while I’m watching TV
  4. Shower curtain ($59.95): raindrops, shower, hahaha get it?
  5. Wastebasket ($19.95): garbage should look good
  6. Serving bowl ($17.97): for the dinner parties I’ve never hosted
  7. Dish towels ($12.95): ok, I actually really wanted these

But you know what? I left empty handed. And saved $191.67. In all honesty, I didn’t think about these items again until I sat down to write this post, which is a sign that I never really needed them in the first place. I’ll add them to my C&B wishlist and let out a sigh of relief that I dodged a financial bullet.

Leave a Reply

