Financial Freedom

flag

I can’t write an entry on the 4th of July without using the words “independence” or “freedom” at least once. I was inspired to share what the concept of “financial freedom” means to me after reading this article on DailyWorth. To me, financial freedom means not thinking and worrying about money on a constant basis. I hate having an intensive pros vs. cons debate in my head every time I deliberate a purchase, whether a $40 dress for work or a $4 iced coffee on those days when I feel like I’m suffocating in the NYC humidity. I want to have the freedom to make those little indulgent purchases every now and then without scolding myself for not channeling that money instead towards my loans or credit card debt or savings account. I want the freedom to use boosts in income – whether a raise, bonus, or tax refund – for fun, like a spontaneous weekend trip or a visit to San Francisco just because. Ultimately, it’s this latter concept of freedom that (for the most part) motivates me and persuades me to keep my spending in check.

Leave a Reply

