Good to the last drop

Image

I get impatient waiting to finish certain things, like shampoo. Usually 2/3 of the way through a bottle I get tired of it and just want to go to Duane Reade already to buy something new! But, in the spirit of saving money and using what I have, I am committed to finishing that damn bottle to the very last drop. In fact, I found out that I actually have multiple kind-of-but-not-really empty toiletries stashed in my bathroom (because for some inexplicable reason, I feel guilty throwing away half-used toiletries even if I have already bought replacements). In the spirit of saving money and making smart purchases, I made a promise to myself to use everything up before buying anything new. The upside? I’m saving approximately $44 for at least the next 4-6 weeks AND I can get rid of the clutter that results from having multiples of things lying around.

Approximate cost of items:

  • Shampoo and conditioner: $15
  • Body wash: $9
  • Face wash: $10
  • Lotion: $10
    Total: $44

When the time does come to replace these items, I’m tempted to do a generics-only experiment to see if that will yield even more savings. A dollar here and a dollar there really does add up!

Leave a Reply

