January Reflections

January wasn’t too shabby. In fact, I think I did pretty well spending and savings-wise and might even have a few bucks leftover after all is said and done. Here are some highlights:

  • Savings: put away $212 into my emergency fund.
  • IRA: put away $50 into my quarterly distribution account and also signed up to have $100 deducted from my checking account every month. Admittedly, if I follow this routine I won’t come even close to the $5,500 annual max-out but hey, it’s something. 
  • Credit card: I don’t have any credit card debt but I did experiment this month with charging everything onto my new Capital One Venture Rewards card to earn a ton of miles (I have a lot of flights coming up this year). Once my due date rolls around, I will use the cash in my checking account to pay off the balance, then repeat for February. 

Of course, there were also a few lows this month:

  • Clothes: when I was visiting friends in DC last weekend, we couldn’t help but pop into a few stores during our stroll around Georgetown. I scored some amazing deals (a $128 Joie shirt for $30, a $178 dress for $40, and a $48 shirt for $12) but did I really need new clothes? Not really…but I have already worn the Joie shirt and the dress will be perfect for at least two of the weddings I’m attending this year. Please just let me justify this splurge a little bit. 
  • Eating out: I spent around $250 this month, which is roughly about the same as I spent on groceries. I’ve been incredibly good about bringing lunch and snacks to work and never buy coffee. But then there’s date night and catching up with girlfriends and takeout when I’m too lazy to cook…so I think there is room for improvement. 

Here are my goals for February:

  • Reduce my eating out spending to $200 
  • Make one extra student loan payment
  • Do my taxes

Fingers crossed for a big refund!

Leave a Reply

